Sweetwater interactive mixing guides - Worth it?

Putting all those sounds together -- Plugs and processing, effects, busses, aux sends, etc.

Sweetwater interactive mixing guides - Worth it?

Postby liberty610 » March 23rd, 2015, 10:34 am

Hi guys,

I'm currently in the middle of tracking seasons for a new metal ep with my new band.

I'm new to this mixing thing overall. I've done it a few times, but want to improve. I learned my last DAW by using an interactive dvd that had files I followed asking with.

Sweetwater is offering this, and I was wondering if anyone knew anything about them or if it would be worth it...

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ITBMetalMix

I'm not expexting to learn EVERYTHING, but it seems like a decent training guide.
liberty610

Liked in: 1 post

Advertisement

Tyler Acoustics

Re: Sweetwater interactive mixing guides - Worth it?

Postby Jowboy » March 23rd, 2015, 4:37 pm

Personally, between this place, the Internet, and experience I don't think that they would be a good investment. A Google search will get you a basic run down on almost any topic and for free. Specific questions can be asked here, and between the experienced amateurs and the actual pros that we have here ANY question can be answered. Of course, you can read and watch videos and read and ask all the questions you like, but to be honest, until you actually put the sounds in your DAW and start working with them, you will be lacking a critical step to getting better at mixing. We even have the listening room here for critiques of your work.

None of this is to say the DVD's are a poor quality product or even that they give poor information. I just think that the same information can be acquired for free (albeit with a little bit more time invested on your part).
Channeling the wisdom of others since 1974.
www.montanaknites.com My personal website w/ music, blog, etc.
Jowboy

Liked in: 37 posts

Postby liberty610 » March 23rd, 2015, 7:34 pm