reverb on the 2-buss

Putting all those sounds together -- Plugs and processing, effects, busses, aux sends, etc.

reverb on the 2-buss

Postby ditto » February 13th, 2015, 1:42 am

How does reverb on the 2-buss work? Put it on as an insert and use the wet/dry setting in the plugin? Or should it be on a send, like I do with every other track in a mix?
I am all about the clean install. CF

May I ask what a skippy is??? Michiemasha
User avatar
ditto
 
Posts: 680
Likes: 27 posts
Liked in: 93 posts
Joined: April 4th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Real name: ditto ditto

Advertisement

Tyler Acoustics

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby MASSIVE Mastering » February 13th, 2015, 10:50 am

If you really want it on the 2-buss, then the wet/dry should do it.
John Scrip - MASSIVE Mastering, LLC - Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.), IL - USA
Image
User avatar
MASSIVE Mastering
 
Posts: 386
Likes: 327 posts
Liked in: 163 posts
Joined: March 18th, 2013, 12:00 am
Location: Chicago area, IL
Real name: John Scrip

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby ditto » February 13th, 2015, 3:27 pm

MASSIVE Mastering wrote:If you really want it on the 2-buss, then the wet/dry should do it.


You don't like the idea?
I am all about the clean install. CF

May I ask what a skippy is??? Michiemasha
User avatar
ditto
 
Posts: 680
Likes: 27 posts
Liked in: 93 posts
Joined: April 4th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Real name: ditto ditto

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby MASSIVE Mastering » February 14th, 2015, 9:52 am

It's not typical, but I can see reasons for it. Especially if you're trying to mimic a "live" feel on a relatively "dead" recording.
John Scrip - MASSIVE Mastering, LLC - Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.), IL - USA
Image
User avatar
MASSIVE Mastering
 
Posts: 386
Likes: 327 posts
Liked in: 163 posts
Joined: March 18th, 2013, 12:00 am
Location: Chicago area, IL
Real name: John Scrip

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby Farview » February 14th, 2015, 10:07 am

Yup, there really are no rules, but that scenario is about the only one I can think of for putting verb on the main output.

I mostly use reverb to add space around instruments and place them front to back in the mix. To my mind, adding verb to the master would just push the whole mix away from you.

But now that I think about it, a short verb with a lot of ealy reflections could brighten and liven up something overly dry and dead.
Jason "Jay" Walsh
www.farviewrecording.com
User avatar
Farview
 
Posts: 396
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 113 posts
Joined: March 17th, 2013, 11:05 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Real name: Jason Walsh

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby ditto » February 14th, 2015, 12:44 pm

That's what I want it for. I don't want to push the whole mix back, I want to give it a sense of liveness cuz my room's a bit on the dead side.

Mike Senior talks about reverb having five purposes in a mix: blend, size, tone, sustain and spread. It's the first two on that list I'm interested in.
I am all about the clean install. CF

May I ask what a skippy is??? Michiemasha
User avatar
ditto
 
Posts: 680
Likes: 27 posts
Liked in: 93 posts
Joined: April 4th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Real name: ditto ditto

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby Farview » February 14th, 2015, 2:21 pm

If putting reverb on the main out does what you want it to do, then do it. There's nothing wrong with it at all.
Jason "Jay" Walsh
www.farviewrecording.com
User avatar
Farview
 
Posts: 396
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 113 posts
Joined: March 17th, 2013, 11:05 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Real name: Jason Walsh

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby MASSIVE Mastering » February 15th, 2015, 12:45 am

Sidenote -- Send everything (including groups if you're using them) to a group. Use an aux on the group to go to the reverb. On the aux buss, insert a compressor before the verb (and an EQ before that if you like) so you can slam the snot out of the signal going to the reverb. Quiet parts of the mix have more "verb fill" -- Louder parts will have a little less. Play around with it -- There's an awful lot of room to play (no pun intended).
John Scrip - MASSIVE Mastering, LLC - Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.), IL - USA
Image
User avatar
MASSIVE Mastering
 
Posts: 386
Likes: 327 posts
Liked in: 163 posts
Joined: March 18th, 2013, 12:00 am
Location: Chicago area, IL
Real name: John Scrip

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby ditto » February 15th, 2015, 5:05 am

So basically that's a way to put verb for the whole mix on a send without putting it on the 2-buss... The compression thing's cool though - there's no way you could do that on the 2-buss.
I am all about the clean install. CF

May I ask what a skippy is??? Michiemasha
User avatar
ditto
 
Posts: 680
Likes: 27 posts
Liked in: 93 posts
Joined: April 4th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Real name: ditto ditto

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby Musikron » February 15th, 2015, 12:45 pm

MASSIVE Mastering wrote:Sidenote -- Send everything (including groups if you're using them) to a group. Use an aux on the group to go to the reverb. On the aux buss, insert a compressor before the verb (and an EQ before that if you like) so you can slam the snot out of the signal going to the reverb. Quiet parts of the mix have more "verb fill" -- Louder parts will have a little less. Play around with it -- There's an awful lot of room to play (no pun intended).


I used to do something similar, especially on vocals, but set everything so that the verb only effected the louder bits when the compressor kicked in. That way I could easily replicate the effect an actual sound source has in a room. Whisper and there is no reverb, belt one out and you can hear your voice reflecting off the walls. It was a very natural effect but I'll be damned if I remember exactly how I achieved it. It had something to do with side-chaining and I used a compressor as a "trigger". Anyone with a better memory (at least a fresher one) know what I'm talking about and care to explain it adequately?
Musikron
 
Posts: 28
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 9 posts
Joined: July 1st, 2014, 7:32 pm
Location: Athens GA
Real name: Skye

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby ditto » February 15th, 2015, 3:01 pm

Maybe a gate? Everything under the threshold is dry. Only the signals above the threshold get effect.
I am all about the clean install. CF

May I ask what a skippy is??? Michiemasha
User avatar
ditto
 
Posts: 680
Likes: 27 posts
Liked in: 93 posts
Joined: April 4th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Real name: ditto ditto

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby MASSIVE Mastering » February 15th, 2015, 11:47 pm

You could theoretically set a side-chain of some sort, but yeah, an expander would be ideal.
John Scrip - MASSIVE Mastering, LLC - Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.), IL - USA
Image
User avatar
MASSIVE Mastering
 
Posts: 386
Likes: 327 posts
Liked in: 163 posts
Joined: March 18th, 2013, 12:00 am
Location: Chicago area, IL
Real name: John Scrip

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby Musikron » February 16th, 2015, 9:54 am

I very well may have used a compressor/expander with a gate. I did it with hardware, don't know if it can be achieved in the box or not.
Musikron
 
Posts: 28
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 9 posts
Joined: July 1st, 2014, 7:32 pm
Location: Athens GA
Real name: Skye

Re: reverb on the 2-buss

Postby MASSIVE Mastering » February 16th, 2015, 11:19 am

Just insert an expander in front of the reverb. No problem.
John Scrip - MASSIVE Mastering, LLC - Chicago (Schaumburg / Hoffman Est.), IL - USA
Image
User avatar
MASSIVE Mastering
 
Posts: 386
Likes: 327 posts
Liked in: 163 posts
Joined: March 18th, 2013, 12:00 am
Location: Chicago area, IL
Real name: John Scrip


Return to Mixing - Technique, Hardware, Software, etc.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron